Skip to content

Home Office: Before & After

July 21, 2009

The ‘Home Office’ has become a necessity as many people either work full time  from home or at least bring work home with them on occasion.   Though many folks live in cities where space is at a premium, there are many innovative ways to create functional work spaces at home – even in a tight space and small budget!  So, I thought I would share some “Before” and “After” photos of my own Home Office.  The first image is the “Before” and a  photo I took a year ago on my first visit to this apartment with the real estate broker.  The room is adjacent to the kitchen with a concrete floor and the previous tenant used it as a storage space.

Home Office: Before

Home Office: Before

Home Office: After

Home Office: After

These are the changes I made: painted the concrete floor a dark pink (Spring Tulips by Benjamin Moore), used a polypropylene runner by Dash & Albert Rug Company (Red and White Diamond pattern), White double pedestal desk by JC Penney (very similar to the Pottery barn version but less than half the price), Capiz Shell Chandelier by West Elm.  For a very clean look, I installed White Cordless Cellular Pleated Shades (top down style) also by JC Penney.  I was lucky enough to receive the Knoll Brno Chair from a client’s storage space and just added a throw pillow that I picked up at Madura on Newbury St. in Boston.  I’ve had the glass lamps for several years and believe they are from Gumps.com but am not certain.  Then, I added a few plants and that’s it!  Any home office conversion ideas that you’d like to share?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2009 8:26 pm

    Wow, what a fun office space you have! I really love that you painted the floor the bright color and not the walls, everything looks amazing!!

  2. August 18, 2009 4:25 pm

    The chair nails it. Looks comfy too.

  3. August 24, 2009 7:56 pm

    Dang, you nailed that one!

  4. October 1, 2009 4:00 pm

    I love your conversion of the storage space to an office space. I’m about to start my own home-based business and need to redo my office space at home. Luckily the space I have to work with is a tiny bedroom so there is definitely room, but I need to be able to have client meetings in this space plus my husband’s computer…. making the larger space is quickly shrinking! This is definite inspiration! Any other tips?

  5. DazzLynn! permalink
    October 1, 2009 9:28 pm

    hello!

    i followed you over here from D*S today. I totally want that desk! i saw the pottery barn one, but it was out of my budget. thanks so much for posting the info. The JCP website doesn’t have the best reviews of it. Lots of complaints of easy chipping. I was curious if you’ve been happy with the quality?

    thanks!

  6. Amanda Reid permalink*
    October 2, 2009 1:59 pm

    Thanks for the comments!

    Amy, I think the furniture arrangement will be key in your home office. Hard to give advice without seeing the space or knowing the room dimensions, but if the room is at least 9′ x 11′ you could try placing a 9′ long worksurface held up with two 36″ lateral files against one wall. This would leave 36″ knee space in the center for working at the computer. Then place a round table (42″ or 48″D) in the center of the room – at least 36″ away from the worksurface. The round table could be used both as a worksurface and conference. Be sure to work in plenty of storage space to avoid clutter. Hope this helps!

    DazzLynn, I have not had any problem with the desk chipping but I only use my laptop here and am pretty easy on the desk. It definitely is not as durable as the Pottery Barn version but has suited my needs just fine.

  7. October 13, 2009 4:29 pm

    I just came over from the DIY Showoff’s blog feature of your home office. This room looks great! It even looks brighter. Love how you have just the right amount of furniture and accessories in here. Neat, functional and pretty ~ what more could you ask for?

  8. October 13, 2009 11:08 pm

    I absolutely love this!

  9. October 16, 2009 1:35 am

    Love it!

Trackbacks

  1. Home Office, Before And After | Mandarina Studio

Leave a Reply

